WATSON Tour de France 2016 podium

photo: Graham Watson

The world's biggest bike race and biggest annual sporting event, the Tour de France finished in Paris on Sunday with a familiar name at the head of affairs.

Chris Froome (Team SKY) won for the third time, trusting in race tyres from Continental throughout the race. Together with Romain Bardet, AG2R La Mondiale and Nairo Quintana, Team Movistar the podium was truly dominated by athletes riding on tyres “handmade in Germany” from Continental.

In fact, the top eight GC positions were filled with riders using Continental, too. Team Movistar won the title as fastest team overall and no less than 15 out of 21 stages were won by athletes riding on Continental tyres.

In 2016, eleven out of eighteen UCI WorldTour teams trust in Continental race tyres “handmade in Germany” – more than ever before. These are AG2R La Mondiale, BMC Racing Team, Dimension Data, FDJ, IAM Cycling, Lampre-Merida, Lotto Soudal, Movistar Team, Orica-BikeExchange, Team Katusha and Team Sky.

Tour de France 2016 :

Yellow Jersey – Team Sky – Chris Froome
White Jersey – Orica BikeExchange – Adam Yates
Overall Team Winner – Team Movistar

Top 8 GC riders overall :
1.Froome GB (Team Sky), 2.Bardet FR (AG2R La Mondial), 3.Quintana COL (Movistar), 4.Yates GB (Orica BikeExchange), 5.Porte AUS (BMC), 6.Valverde ESP (Movistar), 7.Rodriguez ESP (Katusha), 8.Meintjes SA (Lampre Merida)

15/21 stage wins on Continental tyres

Stg 1 – Cavendish – Dimension Data – Utah Beach

Stg 3 – Cavendish - Dimension Data – Anger

Stg 5 – Van Avermaet – BMC – Le Lioran

Stg 6 – Cavendish - Dimension Data – Montauban

Stg 7 – Cummings - Dimension Data – Lac de Payolle

Stg 8 – Froome – Team Sky – Bagneres de Luchon –

Stg 10 – Matthews – Orica BikeExchange – Revel

Stg 12 – de Gendt – Lotto Soudal – Mt Ventoux

Stg 14 – Cavendish - Dimension Data –
Villars les Dombes

Stg 15 – Pantano – IAM Cycling – Culoz

Stg 17 – Zakarin – Team Katusha – Finhaut Emosson

Stg 18 - Froome – Team Sky – Megeve (individual TT)

Stg 19 – Bardet – AG2R La Mondial – Saint Gervais -
Mt Blanc

Stg 20 – Izaguirre – Team Movistar – Morzine

Stg 21 – Greipel – Lotto Soudal – Paris

Share our page

FacebookTwitterGoogle Bookmarks